If you suffer a slip and fall accident at work, you may be inclined to brush it off and continue with your workday. However, no matter how minor they appear to be, injuries must be taken seriously due to slip and fall accidents. According to the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, 27% of the nearly one million non-fatal workplace injuries in 2018 were related to slips and falls, costing millions of Americans lost wages and time from work each year.

Your time, health, and well-being are valuable. If a slip and fall accident has injured you at work, you have options available to receive the compensation you deserve.

What is a "slip and fall" accident?


The term "slip and fall" refers to an incident where an individual slips or falls in the workplace or on another person's property, leading to an injury. A slip or fall can directly result from dangerous or unsafe conditions, including wet floors, torn carpeting, poor lighting, or narrow stairways.

Can I file a claim against my employer?


If you are injured in a slip and fall accident at work, you may be able to obtain payment for said injuries through a workers' compensation claim or a personal injury lawsuit. According to the State of Florida Statutes, you have four years from the date of the slip and fall incident to file a lawsuit against the property owner. This filing deadline applies to both personal injury and property damage claims. 

In Florida, most employers must carry workers' compensation coverage. Coverage is purchased from a private insurer or by receiving self-insure certification from the Florida Division of Workers' Compensation (DWC). Like all other states, Florida has a no-fault workers' compensation system. You do not need to prove that your employer acted negligently to receive benefits. As long as your injury is work-related, you will typically be eligible for benefits. 

Eligible workers' compensation benefits include:

  • Temporary disability benefits which include payments for lost wages
  • Impairment benefits, such as amputations or permanent limitations
  • Reasonable and necessary medical care
  • Vocational rehabilitation if training or education is needed for a new line of work

How do I report a work-related injury?


The first step to starting a workers' comp claim is notifying your employer. Per Florida law, you must report your injury within 30 days of the incident. If your injury develops over time and affects your work, you have 30 days from the onset of symptoms.

When you report your work-related injury to your employer, provide the following information:

  • When and where the accident happened
  • How you injured yourself
  • What symptoms you are experiencing.

Once you report your injury, your employer will send you to an occupational doctor of their choice unless you need emergency medical attention. You should provide the doctor with accurate information about the cause and severity of your injuries and how they affect your work. 

After I report my injury, what happens?


Your employer must report your claim to its insurance company within seven days of receiving it. The insurer will investigate your case and determine your eligibility for benefits by:

  • Reviewing your medical records
  • Analyzing your employment experience, education, and wages
  • Ordering a medical examination to assess your injury
  • Require an assessment of your ability to perform work duties

Under Florida law, the insurance company must approve or deny your workers' compensation benefits within 14 days. If approved, you will start receiving payments and other benefits. If the insurance company denies your claim, you are eligible to file an appeal. 

Trust An Experienced Accident Attorney


Establishing liability for a slip and fall or trip and fall incident can be complex. With over 35 years of experience in representing slip and fall and trip and fall victims, our attorneys will handle all the details of your case and protect your rights. 

At Hudgins Law Firm, our sole responsibility is to YOU. We will fight for the compensation you deserve following an auto accident. We deal with insurance companies and take them to court if necessary. To set up a FREE consultation, call us toll-free at 800-950-5534, or complete the contact form on our website. We're the right team for you!



Sources:
https://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/florida-slip-and-fall-laws.html 

https://www.myfloridacfo.com/division/wc/

https://www.findlaw.com/injury/torts-and-personal-injuries/slip-and-fall-accidents-overview.html